Skip to content

Accreditation Scheme

Accreditation Scheme

The Accreditation Scheme is a voluntary scheme that sets nationally agreed standards for museums in the UK. It is a baseline quality standard that helps to guide museums to be the best they can be for current and future museum users.

Although it is a UK-wide standard, it is not a ‘one-size-fits-all’ model. The expectations vary for museums of different types, sizes and scopes. There are around 250 Accredited museums in Scotland, ranging from large national institutions to small volunteer-run museums.

To achieve Accreditation, a museum must meet published requirements on:

  • how it is governed and managed
  • how it cares for and manages its collections
  • the information and services it offers to museum users

As part of the Accreditation Scheme, you will have access to a range of support and guidance – so you can be confident that you’re developing your services in the right direction.

Museums Galleries Scotland is the Accreditation Scheme assessing organisation for museums in Scotland. The Accreditation Scheme is managed as a partnership between:

  • Arts Council England
  • Museums Galleries Scotland
  • Northern Ireland Museums Council
  • Museums, Archives and Libraries Division, Welsh Government

Read more about Scotland’s Accredited museums.

Find out if your museum is eligible to apply to the Accreditation Scheme.

Learn more about the Accreditation Scheme application process.

If your Accredited museum cares for a collection of national significance, you may wish to consider applying to the Recognition Scheme.